A Special First Week of School

Preschool playground

Although I have had dozens of first weeks of school in my life, this beginning was different from all others.  As I was talking with our ninth graders in Freshman Seminar, I knew that I was about to take my own boys to their first day of preschool. After the Marin Academy freshmen had shared some of their thoughts about their first days, I asked their advice.  I figured they were the closest to what both my boys and I were about to experience. So I leaned in and asked, “What advice do you have for me given that Jack and Henry are about to have their first day of school?”

Preschool activity table

Needless to say, they eagerly jumped in, and their wisdom helped a lot.  Here are three pieces of advice to me from the Class of 2016; I hope you find it as useful as I did!

  1. You can’t put a shield around your children. They will fall down, and it will be ok.
  2. Even if kids say they didn’t have a good time, they probably did.  It is just their way of saying that they still want to hang out with you.
  3. Make sure you have snacks for them when they get home; they will probably be hungry.

It’s great advice: recognize that part of growing up is learning how to deal with adversity; our relationships with our children are always dynamic; good food goes a long way to provide the fuel necessary to grow well.

Here’s to a great end of the first week—and to a wonderful year ahead!

About Travis

Head of School, Marin Academy.
This entry was posted in Class of 2016, parenting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Special First Week of School

  1. Stephanie says:

    Great advice Trav–it will come in handy for the Rachel’s first day of kindergarten on Tuesday! Love to you, Liz and the boys, Stephanie

Leave a Reply

